NAAC Accreditation with grade A+ (CGPA 3.31)


About Physics Department

The Department of Physics was established at the beginning of Taywade College, Koradi (Formerly known as Arts, Commerce & Science College, Koradi) in 1993. Starting with the limited resources and infrastructural facilities the department has grown up and well equipped with all necessary instruments with infrastructural facilities. In this journey, the department progressed gradually with the vision and mission of empowerment of students of rural background to become good physicists, entrepreneurs and socially competent human being.

We are the premier Physics Department in Nagpur Rural area under RTM Nagpur University. Well qualified faculty members of Physics Department strive hard to achieve the academic excellence. Department induce ‘Physics Association’ which is an executive/working committee of the students for their overall development, involvement & responsibilities. ‘Physics Association’ conducts various curricular and co-curricular activities in the department such as student seminar, guest lecture, poster presentation competition, study tour, motivating the students to take participation in inter-collegiate competitions/programs etc. for the overall personality development of the students. Department successfully organized two National conferences (RDMST – 2014 and NCLA – 2016) and one State level competition (Genesis – 2019).

The departmental faculties have remarkable contribution in research they mobilized the grant of around 3.52 lakh by conducting 2 minor research projects. They have several research papers in International & National journal and conference proceedings on their credit. They have visited to various research centers for up gradation of their knowledge and research.


To build a foundation for excellence and encourage the development of the Institution as a premier Institution by training students for quality physics education and equip them with such skills to pursue higher studies and to make them competent for the development of the Nation.

Mission of the Department

  • To provide high quality physics education and equipping student’s for higher education.
  • To provide students with state of the art knowledge in Physics to equip students to compete globally.
  • To create such infrastructure in the department for meeting the above mission.
  • To develop among students, sensitivity to contribute to the betterment of society through knowledge in Physics.
Course introduction College implement syllabus designed by RTM Nagpur University for UG courses. Physics is one of the subjects offered in the three year UG program of Bachelor of Science (B.Sc.). The syllabus of the course encompasses various physical concepts and theories in order to provide insight to through theory and experiments. The course at early stage emphasizes on the fundamentals of Physics and properties of matter where the students will learn the various properties of matter and their origin with the understanding of their quantification, which later leads to the introduction to modern concepts such as Quantum Mechanics and Relativity at the end of the course. In this course the students are introduced to the various physical concepts of Electricity, Magnetism, Optics, Waves, Statistical Mechanics, Thermodynamics etc. The mission of the course is to lay a strong foundation in classical and modern physics to pursue higher studies. They will also gain expertise in lab work through sufficient practical sessions training them at conception and hand on practice of laboratory equipment. In addition, this course enables the students to grab job opportunities in various fields and to crack the relevant competitive exams. Departmental Features
  • Highly qualified teaching faculties.
  • Well-equipped laboratory.
  • Student friendly environment.
Programs offered
Sr. No. Name of the program Level Aided/Un-aided Year of starting
1. B.Sc. Semester Pattern with following combination of subjects: ¨    Physics, Mathematics, Chemistry ¨    Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science ¨    Physics, Chemistry, Computer Science UG Aided/Un-aided 2013
2. Master of Science Physics PG Aided/Un-aided 2021
Faculty Members:
Sr. No. Name of Faculty Qualification Post Held Teaching Experience
1) Dr. Abhivilas S. Nakhate M.Sc., Ph.D. HOD 23 Years
2) Dr. Kamlesh V. Dabre M.Sc., NET Ph.D. Assistant Professor 09 Years
Supporting Staff:
  • Raju Walundre – Laboratory Attendant

Dr. Abhivilas S. Nakhate

Dr. Kamlesh V. Dabre

Recent Activities and Programs:

  • On the occasion of ‘Silver Jubilee Year’ of Taywade College, Koradi the Department of Physics & Mathematics in association with Avishkar, Research Oriented Competition Committee of Taywade College, Koradi jointly organized a State Level competition of Power Point & Poster presentation ‘Genesis – 2019’ on 23rd February 2019. In this competition around 94 entries from 26 different colleges of different parts of state register online by Google form. The winners were given by the trophies along with the cash prize of Rs. 3000, 2000 and 1000 for first, second and third position respectively and the certificates to the consolation position.